Posted by: Dawud Israel | April 18, 2007

Weighing the two evils

Bismillah Ar-Rahman Ar-Rahim
Alhamdulillahi Rabbil-Alameen
Allahumma salli ‘ala Muhammad wa ‘ala ‘aali Muhammad kama sal-laita ‘ala Ibrahim wa ‘ala ‘aali Ibrahim innaka Hamidun Majeed. Allahumma barik ‘ala Muhammad wa ‘ala ‘aali Muhammadin kama barakta ‘ala Ibrahim wa ‘ala ‘aali Ibrahim innaka Hamidun Majeed.

This is going to be my first post on this blog. I had to debate with myself as to whether or not I should create a blog. You may be asking why?

This is what I have noticed in myself. I don’t know if it applies to anyone else but myself, but I suspect it may. If you see the diagram, I was for a while really close to the left side. My fear is that by doing this blog or any other dawah-style work, I will go closer to the right side. The fact that Allah is on the left side and the Nafs (which can also be shaytaan) is coincidental and I didn’t mean to do that.


The best advantage of being on the left is that you feel as if Allah, Himself SWT is teaching you because your ideas and feelings seem to come out of thin air. These ideas resonated in me and I realized someone had to act on these ideas and so that is why I started this and the sister blogs. The dilemma is whether to be on the left side or on the right side. On the left side on can protect oneself and gain hassanat, but on the right side one can protect others and gain reward too. I am going to try and stay in the middle or cycle between these too and Insha Allah this project will bear a great deal of fruit for Muslims.


Leave a Reply

Categories

