Posted by: Dawud Israel | July 18, 2007

Female Equality in Canada

I was inspired by some of the stuff I read on the AlMaghrib forums, as well as the Fiqh of Dawah set where the shaykh mentioned you should write wherever possible. So I signed up to write for my university newspaper. Subhana Allah, one of the first articles that came up was regarding Islam. The topic was Muslim women and so I had some ideas in the back of my head. The same day I was thinking deeply about what should I write and I went to one of my friends house just to hang out. One of the ideas I had was briefly mentioning gender equality in Canadian society. Subhana Allah, the brother told me “OK I have to study! You study too!.” He’s a funny guy. I said, “OK” and then I started studying some stuff I had. But on his kitchen table was this textbook on Sociology. Now I just started flipping through it randomly and it fell to the exact page that discussed gender equality in Canada. My friend shouted at me, “Your not studying!” I told him, “Don’t worry. I’m studying. ” (As if he was pushing me further into what I was looking for). I used the footnotes and got the Statistics Canada link too!

Here is what the textbook said:

“Female equality doesn’t get much attention in Canadian media and to some it may come as a surprise that even as late as 2001 Canadian women were making less money than their male counterparts for the same amount of work. Female university professors earn 77 cents, lawyers earn 68 cents and female dentists earn 65 cents for every male dollar (Stats Canada, 2003).”

http://www12.statcan.ca/english/cen…rn/canada.cfm#4

A man makes 1 dollar, while women make less, for the SAME amount of work, regardless of their education!!! Crazy eh? Canada is really really behind. And our sisters have to endure the Islamophobia and the sexism. Anyways, the whole point of the story is Allah SWT has your back covered, if you trust in Him. Be like the birds, they go out hungry being held up by Allah’s mercy and return with their bellies full–all through reliance on Allah SWT.

Subhana kalahumma wa bihamdik ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk. Ameen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

