Posted by: Dawud Israel | August 13, 2007

Dawah Literature Collection

Phew!

I have been piling through my digital Islamic pamphlet collection. It totals to 2800+ files and a 2 gigs. I don’t remember how or when I accumulate this large collection–but I must put it to use. I thought this would be a simple job but boy was I wrong. There are a number of issues I am encountering:

1) Conflicting messages: Some of the pamphlets have opposing views so naturally I am caught in the middle as to which I agree with. So that puts me in the uncomfortable theological position, I am not qualified for.

2) Conflicting idealogies: There is a mix of Salafi and Sufi literature and although I am pretty open, there are a few things that irk me about both. This makes me fervently uneasy.

3) Agendas: Some of the groups that produced these works have some sort of agenda that may surface and be wholly wrong and yet I am left unawares of it. I can think of Harun Yahya’s Mutazilite surfacing at odd places. I think I will have to research and profile these groups individually.

4) Printing quality: Only a handful are ready for printing to be folded and used. While others have excellent content, they can only be really used as e-books. Future projects will have to deal with transforming script into brochures. And cost-effective usable brochures.

5) Critique: How can I critique these works? How can I assess their effectiveness? The effectiveness on certain target audiences? The approach in using them? More questions come to mind than these.

6) Distribution: How can I share these? I don’t know where I can freely host all these files securely since I am still a newbie to the blogging world.

I am also thinking of taking parts of this corpus and turning them into films, books, audio and other media. There is a lot already out on the Internet in terms of film and other materials and I have seen a lot of it so I must target those areas that have been ignored and untouched.

Oh Allah I seek your aid! Ameen!

The more I read the more I reflect that Islam has many faces. This makes sense to me because our Lord SWT has many names, so it is natural for Islam to have different names. But what really hits me is that Islam as it exists today is nominal in it’s true splendor. I mean there are simple Muslim journalists who express there ‘scholarly’ interpretation about a Law that only a government can decide, even more so as it is the government of Allah SWT. And this is not just certain journalists. There is nothing that can corrupt a soul with pride as nauseously as religion. Even some scholars boil down things and make them seem less than they may be by giving a small analogy (with excited joy) to explain our Shariah. Or explain Islam with a finality and lack of emotion and spirituality to the blind following. It is as if the skies have been torn as described in the Qur’an and bound in the shreds that is our intellectual weakness that is so undeserving of embracing the Divine. It seems that Islam has been reduced to be merely our ‘entertainment’, in the full sense of the word. Oh Allah make us worthy of your Islam! Ameen!

I am currently reading a number of books apart from my daily Internet readings so I have to plan accordingly this task set out before me by Allah SWT. I must put in the needed time, effort and thought as demanded by this job if I am to have an ounce of dignity regarding this, myself and my Lord.

Note: The Library has been updated.

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdik ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk. Ameen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

