Posted by: Dawud Israel | October 28, 2007

The Smart way to Lower the Gaze

The other day I woke up but to my dismay I could not find my eye-glasses. I lose my glasses very easily and so this is normal but today, I could not find them. I said the duaa, “Inna lillahi wa inna illahi raji’oon” and Insha Allah I will find them. But throughout the remainder of the day, I noticed that it was much easier to lower my gaze. Why? Because I could not see people’s faces clearly from far nor their bodies very well! And because of that I would not get a good view of people. Everything was a blob and it was difficult to see anyone coming at me, let alone in the corner of my vision.

You would think that when people get close you would be able to see them. This may be true for some people but even then with my bad eyesight it wasn’t even that clear 😛 . And because you can’t get that initial look from far–you don’t want to get a look from close nor feel a temptation because you’ve cut off the possibility of a first look so there won’t be a second. Now obviously the downside is that you can’t see very clearly, which is fine if you are a day-dreamer like I am. But you won’t be able to see the people you want to see very easily either from far, but because you know them you will be able to recognize them…hopefully. And you end up squinting a lot. An alternative could be to put on your glasses only when you are in a safe area and take them off when you’re in an area where it is full of members of the opposite sex.

The things we do for Islam! 🙂

Update: I found my glasses!

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdik ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk. Ameen.


Responses

  1. hahahaha 🙂

    ma sha Allah! y’know what, I did the same thing sometime back in an MSA meeting full of sisters. it looked kinda weird coz I was giving people blank looks, so I decided to put my glasses on and lower my gaze 🙂

  2. What a good post ! And very thoughtful !

    Ok ! What about guys with 20/20 vision (Alhamdullillah) ?

  3. ahahah…..

    subhanallah…..what an experience. surely, there is hikmah in everything that happens.i have a friend who actually did the same thing only her far-sighted problems are not so bad.
    so, she won’t fall or trip while walking.

  4. […] The Smart Way to Lower the Gaze […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

