Posted by: Dawud Israel | January 13, 2008

Dawah Art: Malcolm X’s Hajj

I was doing some cleaning and I found some stuff sitting on my old computer that I made while in high school. I made this small piece for the yearly journal that the school would publish containing literary and art pieces contributed by students.

This piece didn’t make it. I remember working very hard on this and going through about 10+ different versions. This can be done easily and much better now on Photoshop but that wasn’t really very common back when I made this. I made this on Microsoft Word and I am not a very talented artist so it was hard work.

What it is, is the letter Malcolm X wrote from Mecca signaling his conversion to orthodox Sunni Islam. I took the letter and layed it over his photograph to create what is called ‘typographical’ art. I then had to play with the color and my silly printer to get it to come out just right. The problem was I could only submit artistic pieces that were black and white only and not colored otherwise this would’ve looked much nicer. On first glance you can’t tell it’s Malcolm but if you know Malcolm (like me) you recognize it instantly and loved the idea.
Here’s a preview:

malcolm.jpg

Here is the original photograph of Malcolm X

Malcolm Dawah Art PDF (for printing)

In retrospect it’s pretty badly done. But the concept is great for Dawah and I love typographical art. So if there is anyone out there who would be willing to redo this or make some modifications to it so that it looks much better, comment here or gimme a shout and I’ll send you the files. Or if you just want to help with Islamic typographical art let me know. 🙂

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdik la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk. Ameen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

