Posted by: Dawud Israel | March 27, 2008

How to find Lost Objects

Mug

Not a good idea to put Allah’s name on a coffee mug and my coffee mug isn’t like this…but you’ll see why I use this picture…
I was walking to my last class and as I stepped up the stairs I realized I had lost my coffee mug. I had just started drinking coffee and this was the second time I had lost it.

While in class I tried to recall where I had placed it but felt hopeless. The previous times I had lost something I had at least some recollection but lately there had been so much on my mind that I could not even begin to imagine where it was.

So I said the duaa you are supposed to say when you lose an object or when someone dies or generally when something unfortunate happens:

Inna

Inna lillahi wa inna illaihi raji’oon
‘To Allaah we belong and unto Him is our return.

And then because I felt as if this time I was not going to find my lost item, I said this duaa which basically signifies an acceptance of Allah’s will, no matter how much we may dislike it:

Qadarallahu

Qadara Allahu wa ma sha’a fa’al
‘Allaah has decreed and what He wills, He does’.

And then literally within a few seconds I remembered it might be in the pizza shop where I had placed it down while getting my slice of cheese pizza. I went there but to my surprise they were closed. The gates of the store had been put up but there was someone still in there. I went and stood at the gate and told them my situation and then they asked me, what it looked like. And subhana Allah, it was indeed there!

The lady tried to hand me my mug but it couldn’t go through the holes of the gates and so she went around and gave it to me through the main opening. I thanked them and went on my way…

It’s funny because I had placed a barrier between me and finding my mug–I felt I would never find it and my doubt was an obstacle in me finding it. Once I made duaa, that obstacle vanished and when I found my mug I saw another barrier was once again before me. This made me really reflect on how the barriers I put up for myself are more problematic than the ones Allah puts up for me.

A little duaa can go a long way in breaking those inner and outer barriers…

Try this duaa next time you lose something–it ALWAYS WORKS!

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk. Ameen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

