Posted by: Dawud Israel | March 29, 2008

The World of the New Muslim?

It occurred to me today what it must feel like to a convert.

I was praying jumaah and the brother next to me was a convert who had tattoos and whose clothes weren’t very appropriate. I knew this brother by face and you would not expect him to be Muslim but he was indeed a convert. But I knew that he didn’t learn as much as he possibly could because everyone is “Busy”.

So after we were done praying I changed spots to pray my Sunnah prayer and so I took the spot next to me where he had prayed and thought to myself, “Maybe I’ll get a sense as to how this brother feels.” And during my first rakaah when I was getting up from sujud to stand up my head collided with the backside of the person in front of me. These clumsy things happen sometimes when either person doesn’t measure or pace out their movements in salaah.

To be honest, it really hurt my head real bad. But then it struck me: Perhaps this is how converts feel, as if their head is below the backside of Muslims in terms of their self-confidence and fitting in. I’m hoping this may be an exaggeration but I can only speculate. That realization in combination with the impact really gave me big headache!

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduna la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk. Ameen.


Responses

  1. As Salaamu ‘alaikum
    Nice article akhi. I reverted to Islaam in 1992. Prior to embracing Islaam I was on a course to disaster. I drank heavily and for the society within which I lived (Australia – still do) that ‘lifestyle’ is perfectly acceptable.
    For the first 6 months after embracing Islaam I was in a kind of daze. The people I had known before embracing Islaam – fellow drunks basically – no longer associated with me nor I with them. Whilst the many Muslims I met during those initial 6 months were polite I felt left out. It wasn’t until a brother from Palestine advised me to ‘look for Islaam within myself rather than in other people’ that I felt an acceptance within the fold of fellow Muslims. I know of other reverts, who even though they have reverted to Islaam for quite some time, still feel to some extent alienated mainly because they are not native Arabic speakers or because they have not been raised in an Islaamically cultural society.
    A willingness on the part of fellow Muslims to give of their time, albeit a little, to revert Muslims definitely helps. Their needs to be more open encouragement towards an establishment of belonging. Alhamdulillah I have met some wonderful brothers who took (and take) the time to foster love and tolerance amongst themselves with the inclusion of myself. Reverts to Islaam insha’Allaah are constantly learning about themselves as Muslims in relation to other Muslims. They are often unsure of and unaware of the bonds that exist within the Ummah and social strategies needed to cement and increase these bonds of love and tolerance. It may only be a few minutes spared and shared that makes the difference between the reverts acceptance or withdrawal from the Ummah.

  2. I know what you mean and the more I think about it, the more I wonder if New Muslims really are the backside of the Muslim community?


Leave a Reply

Categories

