Posted by: Dawud Israel | April 26, 2008

Upcoming MindMap Post

A while back I discussed Mind Maps and said I would try and implement these on my blog. Well, I finally got around to doing just that but thought I would do a post to warn readers, because it is somewhat of an experiment.

If you don’t know what these are than check out my previous posts.

The great thing about these is they save time and are more concerned with the raw concept and discussion at hand rather than the semantics (and argumentation over semantics) that comes with written work. However, it is still a relatively new tool that is used more notably by business people so not much has been done by implementing it in other areas. Insha Allah, it will be of benefit to Islamic Dawah.

Mind maps are basically how I prepare my pieces/projects out and then translate them into written words, so perhaps if I present this instead, I will be able to express myself more clearly. The main benefit with mind maps is they are much more clear. You have a web of thoughts and you can connect and inter-relate ideas quickly because it’s a visual process and not an abstract one that happens in your mind. It could make things more “scientific” or more “spiritual” depending on how it’s done and obviously some pieces lend themselves better to writing rather than a mind map.

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk, Ameen.


Responses

  1. Did you get that from developmental psychology?

  2. See the previous posts link I mentioned above. It’s one of the major techniques I found in some books about how to learn better (well?).

  3. Hi,

    like the focus for your mind map – well done!
    Have you ever thought of getting rid of the symbols and having the information on a line.

    I found doing it this way was really helpful in my studies, as I could focus on the words and each line/word was unique rather than the same set of symbols.

    Give it a try – Check out some Mind Maps I have loaded on my new website as examples http://www.fuzz2buzz.com/en/mindexchange/browse-grid

    Would be interested in your thoughts.
    I have a Mind Map a Malaysian Muslim friend did on planning her Hajj pilgramige. Would you like to see a copy?

    cheers

    Jennifer

  4. Jennifer,

    I get what you are saying with the symbols and have to agree with you on that. 🙂

    I usually don’t do “promos” for other sites on here, but I like your website and it’s outlook. Please email me at muslimology@gmail.com about what sort of work you do with your company and, if possible, the Hajj mind map you mentioned-I would love to see it!

    Hope to hear from you soon.


Leave a Reply

Categories

