Posted by: Dawud Israel | April 30, 2008

A Scattering Sign

A while back I posted the following on QuranJam.com.

This ayah was being discussed last Jumaah khutbah.

The last word of the ayah is especially powerful; The word Foo roo taa means not just lost but is understood by a very powerful analogy in Arabic.

It refers to the beads that are strung together on a necklace, or as I pictured it, the rosary (tasbih) beads. Foorootaa means when the string is cut the beads flow out and fall uncontrollably scattering everywhere.

…one who follows his own lusts and whose affair (deeds) has been lost.}

For these people it is difficult to return to the remembrance of Allah for these people–there are no beads left on their tasbih beads. This is the state of their dhikr, gone too far to ever be retrieved.

P.S. Rosary beads or tasbih beads are cool too: http://islamtoday.com/show_detail_section.cfm?q_id=1260&main_cat_id=32

But the day I posted this was also a Jumaah and that day I went to the same place to pray Jumaah. After the salaah was done I was sitting there making tasbih on my rosary beads.

I finished and got up to pray 2 rakaahs. As I went into ruku putting my hands on my knees, I saw a glimmer on the prayer mat. Something shiny was on the prayer mat. And then as I got up, I thought–could it be my prayer beads? I dismissed it. But then as I went down again I saw that this was indeed the case. There was one here. Another over there. And yet another and another… 😦

Was I hallucinating? No, it was Real!

It is hard for a person to grasp moments like these and keep their composure. I contemplated these thoughts just a few minutes ago as to how unfortunate it would be if I were in the state described in this ayah–and here it was as if Allah was showing me that I indeed was. At the same time, it was miraculous in nature that this sign was being presented to me, perhaps it was because of it’s closeness to the meaning of this Quranic ayah.

As I finished the salaah, I pulled out my prayer beads and realized that the string was indeed severed. However, the vast majority of the beads were still on it. Because I had used the beads so much in the past, the thread had worn away and it broke on this one part but in the other areas it made the position of the beads more firm as it made it thicker and fuzzier under the beads. I hung the string upside down to see if more beads would escape than the 7-8 on the prayer mat–but they were held in place.

An experience like this was very humbling and a sign for me warning me to repent and this is exactly what I did and continue to do. It may seem simple–but these events can really shake you because you know Allah is telling you something.

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk, Ameen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

