Posted by: Dawud Israel | June 28, 2008

Dhikr Notes

This is something YOU can do right now and change your life!

The whole idea of this is a quick and easy way to memorize and implement dhikr in your life. By dhikr I mean duaas, dhikrs, hadiths or even ayahs. It is something I have been using for a while now and I have learned a lot using this method.

All you need is some Post-it Notes, some sticky tack (bluetack) or tape and what you want to learn. For duaas and dhikrs I recommend you use the following books:

Hisnul Muslim: Fortification of the Muslim Through Prayers from Qur’an & Sunnah
Fortress of the Muslim (online edition)
Words of Remembrance and Words of Reminder

Essentially all you do is copy out the dhikr and duaa onto the note. I write it in transposed English (“bismillah”) and not in Arabic and if you do this keep track of the specific parts where a certain Arabic letter is pronounced.

You can use this as a convenient and easy way of memorizing the dhikr. You have one dhikr/duaa per note and day-by-day you add one onto your previous dhikr/duaas until you learn more and more. Some of them require you go week-by-week. It’s advantage is it’s bite-sized so you can learn quickly and easily rather than fretting you have to memorize a huge list of dhikrs/duaas overnight. You can also fold the sticky part of the note back on itself and put it in your pocket and take it with you elsewhere.

Notice how old some of these are that they have been used so many times and also be sure

Above you can see the duaas that I memorized for my salaat–these are duaas that the Prophet SAAWS said but ones that are not commonly said by people in their salat and so their salaat is short. You can learn these by either placing the note on the prayer-mat or using another tool that I will blog about soon. I hide this in my closet as opposed to putting it on my wall and people thinking I am a lunatic. This way I can quickly review them whenever I have to.

Be sure to double-check your notes as notes are not uncommon!

Above are my current duaas I have placed by my desk that I can easily grab off of the wall for when I have to use them. If you are memorizing a duaa specific to something like entering the home it would be a good idea to place it by the door.

You can use shorthand as well for common phrases

And here is a hadith I am memorizing. It requires a little more knowledge of Arabic but that makes it more fun! I hid this behind my curtain near my prayer-mat so no one sees it. For memorizing this it’s important to note the isnad (narrators) and where it is recorded (Bukhari etc). Insha Allah I will be incorporating this into the Project Taqwa Map. For hadith its good to focus on hadiths related to specific Islamic virtues.

Now you are probably wondering how much can I fit onto a note? Well you can also get these super-large Post-it Notes for very long dhikrs/duaas/hadiths. I just found these today but they seem very promising for the future. As long as you keep repeating them and reviewing them you will be able to memorize them perfectly Insha Allah.

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk, Ameen.


Responses

  1. Is there any specific reason why you write down the english transliteration?

    You could always just print off duas in arabic from the hisnul muslim site:

    http://www.makedua.com/

    Also there are other dua books too, that people usually don’t refer to, Hisnul-Haseen, is one example.

  2. After a little searching i found this pretty cool site, a brother made a bunch of business card sized dua documents from Hisn Haseen:

    It’s a pretty cool idea with english translation and commentary on the back:

    http://www.imaanstar.com/duacards.php

  3. You could use makedua.com but they do not have ALL the duaas. In fact, most of the websites out there only have a partial collection. These two books combined give a full picture of all the duaas and adhkar. And when you write it out by hand you remember it better because you control the way you want it to be remembered. I used English and not Arabic because I didn’t want to get a sin if the notes for example fall of the wall or something like that–English is more of a mnemonic (memory device) than anything else.

    I heard of Hisnul Haseen but never could get a hold of it. Jazaks for the link. I don’t know how authentic those are (if they are from the Sunnah or not). I prefer the duaas and adhkar from the Sunnah because they are what came out of the lips of the Prophet SAAWS so there is an extra barakah.

    But a duaa is a duaa so I’ll be sure to make use of Hisnul Haseen! 🙂

  4. Sometimes you don’t appreciate how truly amazing an idea is until you actually put it into use. Bro, are THE MAN!!!

    I went to Corporate Express yesterday to buy some post-its, and i saw the generic ones for half the price and the Pakistani in me went and happily bought them chuckling away as I left, as if I got something for free.

    I started using them this morning for the early morning dua, I wrote down the 2nd kalimah + rabbigh firlee, with the translation on the wall adjacent to my bed. By doing this I didn’t forget to read as the first thing I said when I woke up.

    HisnulMuslim says if that’s the first thing you read when you wake up, you will be forgiven if you then supplicate you will be answered, if you rise make wudhu and pray, your prayer will be accepted.

    This idea is so elegant because it is so powerful and yet such a dead simple idea.

    Jazakallah Khayrun!!!!!

  5. […] I talked about how to integrate dhikr into your lifestyle using simple post-it notes. One thing I mentioned was that sometimes its hard to read off of a note while you are in prayer. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

