Posted by: Dawud Israel | August 5, 2008

Eliminating Shirkophobia

Bismillah

There is this ridiculous vibe in the Muslim community. It’s come from different communities and it’s really messed.

Among my brethren their is this immense fear of shirk by saying, “Ya Ali” or “Ya Joe” (see my point? it’s all about intention) or visiting graves of the Salaf (people don’t even give the same respect to these graves as they give to their family graves out of fear of shirk). And then among our more politically ignorant and militant there is this idea that voting is shirk and kufr.

In my opinion, this is not shirk. But some believe it to be. And spend a disproportionate amount of time discussing it and not increasing anybody’s emaan. And then once more arguing about it and whether it is or isn’t, isn’t the the point of this. Let’s save a bit of time so we can concentrate on bigger things hmm?

Now don’t get me wrong, there are areas where shirk is very real–like riyaa, when a person shows off is considered to be minor shirk.

The good news is we ALREADY have a solution in the Sunnah of Rasulullah sallallahu alayhi wa sallam taslimin katheeran katheeran katheera.

null

Allahumma in-ni audhu bika an-ushrika bika wa an-na ‘alamu wa astaghfiruka lima la ‘alam

‘O Allaah, I take refuge in You lest I should commit shirk with You knowingly and I seek Your forgiveness for what I do unknowingly.’

This dua, known as the dua for fear of shirk, you can use for all those gray areas that people are out to make you doubt your Islam about.

Problem solved! 🙂

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk, Ameen!


Responses

  1. I smell trouble wif people about the Ya Ali thing you said, good luck with that! 😀

    I think I asked once a Shia Muslim I knew, why they said Ya Ali, and if it was “shirk”. They said if you asked help from your professor, with an assignment, it wouldn’t be shirk, because Allah SWT gave you that access to the prof. If you were saved by a fireman in some crazy fire, it wouldn’t be shirk b/c Allah SWT sent that fireman to save you.

    So he said why should it be shirk if he says Ya Ali, or Ya RasoolAllah SAWS. I think the real issue in that is people’s beliefs in the state after death, and tawassul etc. I also asked him well, aren’t people just dead, after their death. And then he showed me an ayah in the al-Baqarah that said “And call not those who are slain in the way of Allah “dead.” Nay, they are living, only ye perceive not. (154) ” Or something like that. And he also told me of a hadeeth where Rasoolallah SAWS said, my soul returns to my body to return the salam, that someone has given to me. And another one that says there are angels designated to send and return salaams to the prophet.

  2. Bottom line is that there aren’t any narrations of the sahaba – the people who loved the Prophet and their fellow companions MORE than we do – doing anything, calling on anyone after death, and so forth. So it’s best not to, better safe than sorry, yeah?

    Jazak Allah khayr for thinking outside of the box though. Having an analytical and critical thought process is important to progress, especially on a communal and social level in the Ummah, Allah help you and increase you in closeness to Him, as well as help all of us too iA, ameen.

  3. The point is–what’s your intention when you say, “Ya Ali”? I know brothers who will say to me, “Ya Dawud” so is that shirk?

    The point is, the only person who knows whether it is “worshiping” Ali…is the one who is saying it. If this person has said La illaha illalah, than it is erroneous to believe they are worshiping Ali.

    Intention: that’s the point I am getting at. And intention remains between a person and Allah.


Leave a Reply

Categories

