Posted by: Dawud Israel | November 22, 2008

Changes 2008

Bismillah

I am still on hiatus and still thinking over if I want to change directions and what to change my direction towards.

I personally believe Muslim can no longer lollygag, because I feel that things in the West are in massive decline and that it’s a race against the clock to carry out our task of conveying Islam before that opportunity comes to an end, however that may be. I’m seeing this same conclusion from all sorts of perspectives, religious, secular and political.

So, lately I find myself asking the same questions day in and day out:

What goals are the most important? What must be achieved and why or how are we distracting ourselves from achieving those goals? What will it take and how can be ready to carry out those goals? What questions have been answered and which haven’t and which deserve more attention?

And this is not just related to this blog but other activities as well. For example, in my own local community and even beyond that to the ummah at large. Has it been all talk? Was all this stuff a joke set to amuse myself into thinking something was being accomplished, when it could all just be deleted at the press of a button? What is there to show for these ‘efforts’?

I think sometimes we go in a certain direction, but don’t really question ourselves why we are taking that direction and whether we can do better. I think that’s where I am now.

Here are a few changes I’m planning on implementing:

1) Returning to street dawah and actually using the material that has been produced. That means, all the pamphlets and booklets will be put to the test, studied for effectiveness, and maybe even revised.

2) Producing short films. Frankly it’s felt hard to man up to the job of creating dawah media. It’s not that I can’t but just an issue of motivation and guts. This has to be done though. And hopefully apply the method mentioned above- seeing how effective it is with non-Muslims and revising it etc.

3) Focusing more and more on older long-term projects and bringing them to fruition. This is especially important because every person has a limit to the amount of work they can do without compromising quality.

4) Establishing unity and cooperation amongst Muslims of different ‘groups’. It’s about time that we begin to unite on action and not just talk about it or give it lip service. Unity of action and not talkative inaction, is the way to go.

That’s just for starters, let see where else this takes us, in sha Allah.

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk, Ameen.


Responses

  1. Assalaamu Alaikum,

    Seriously Brother, I’ve been thinking the same thing. I’ve lived in the US all my life and I’ve recently started wondering: “What am I doing for Allah? What am I doing to spread Islam in this country? What am I doing to clarify the misconceptions?”

    I have my website and I’ve gotten some positive feedback, Alhamdulillah. But I wonder if it’s enough. I wonder if I can do more.

    It’s so hard to work on dawah projects when the major project of just day-to-day survival is so important.

    May Allah make us both successful in our activities, and may He accept our deeds. Ameen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

