Posted by: Dawud Israel | March 8, 2009

The Death of Argumentation

Bismillah, alhamdulillah, wa salat wa salam ala rasulullah

There is nothing that impairs one’s religion, diminishes one’s respectability, ends one’s happiness, or preoccupies one’s heart like arguing

I have decided that I will, from now on, will no longer engage in any sort of argumentation whatsoever. Additionally, I will be removing anything on my blog that could be considered spiteful, or too critical or argumentative. I will only leave those pieces that build bridges and reconciliation.

There are a number of reasons why I have come to this decision. Firstly, I understand that one of the key ways by which the ignorant attract followers is through argumentation- if it were not for the wise saying just a few words to them, they would not find any audience among Muslims. I’ve seen a lot of Muslims get trapped arguing when they have nothing else to do…well, what exactly are you supposed to do when you have nothing else to do? Worship!

Muslims do NOT know how to argue. Most of them will never learn and anytime a topic about Islam comes on, they gear up to argue or as you for your daleel (proof). And then most will take anything you say, personally- like very personally. They may, just like every other destructive group of Muslims, cite the hadith about the 72 sects that will be in hell- but they don’t even know what the hadith means, or that when it says they will be in hell, it doesn’t mean permanently in hellfire. Or that it refers to the Saliheen (truly righteous Muslims)- who do not concern themselves with names and titles of groups (even if they be from a certain group) or arguing but are occupied ONLY with the Sunnah and therefore go straight to Jannah.

Now, I need to also ask myself there are too many people arguing and bickering and attacking- but who is following the Sunnah? Where do these arguments lead? Well, I found out a while ago that there have been death threats on shaykhs. I know that happens in Saudi Arabia with the really extreme Salafis, threatening some of the Salafi shuyookh- but also Sh. Hamza Yusuf was given a death threat a few years back. Do we really want Muslims killing Muslims? My own personal belief is ALL shuyookh, regardless of interpretation need to be respected- criticism of them is only for scholars to do, not average Muslims. I cannot and will not for example criticize a scholar of a different interpretation of Islam. And often, you will find that the same scholars these people refute- they see their own teachers taking company with them at events. I remember

”When an erstwhile guided people go astray, they are given contentiousness.”
(Related by Ibn Hanbal, Al-Tirmidhi and Ibn Mājja, on the authority of Abī Umāma)

Argumentation is a waste of time, a true complete and waste of time and energy. It leads to delusions of grandeur or of actually achieving something but nothing of the sort is happening. People get this idea that once someone has been refuted- they are defeated and that’s it- which is not true. Scholars agree and disagree and yet, continue with their opinions and beliefs. So what is the point if you are not a scholar?

Lastly, these arguments are IRRELEVANT. They cause more harm then good. We need to be discussing more community issues and Islamic goals. Why are masjids so empty? Argumentation impairs the development of Islam and makes it hard for emaan to grow in our hearts.

The famous Sufi shaykh of India, Nizamuddin Awliya once said regarding argumentation about Islam, “If they put thorns on the ground and you also put thorns on the ground, then there will be thorns everywhere.” Where will one go for safety? This is true now, at Muslim conferences- we restrict which events we go to and in the end, we go nowhere in our Islamic development, because the thorns are everywhere.

The following hadith I posted before but now I think they have had a real effect on my heart. I restated some of them here to testify to this and to once again avow to preserve my deen by abandoning argumentation, once and for all. May Allah help me and all who strive to achieve this, Ameen.

“I guarantee a house in Jannah (Paradise) for one who gives up arguing, even if he is in the right; and I guarantee a house in the middle of Jannah for one who abandons lying even when joking / for the sake of fun; and I guarantee a house in the highest part of Jannah for one who has good manners.” [Prophet Muhammad (صلي الله عليه وسلم) – reported by Imam Abu Dawud]

Sa’eed bin Musayyeb says: Once the Prophet was sitting with his Companions, and one person used insulting words against Abu Bakr (may Allah be pleased with him), causing him pain. But Abu Bakr remained silent. The person again used bitter words against Abu Bakr, and still Abu Bakr did not respond. The third time when this ignorant person hurt Abu Bakr with his tongue, Abu Bakr tried answering back.
At this point the Prophet got up. Abu Bakr (may Allah be pleased with him) asked him, “Are you displeased with me, O Messenger of Allah?” The Prophet replied, “No, but (when you remained silent) an angel came down from the heaven responding to this man’s talk. But the moment you started replying to that man, the angel went away and the devil sat down. And I cannot sit where the devil is sitting.” Abu Dawood 041 4878

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk, ameen.


Responses

  1. Interesting..
    Hmm..

    speaking of the, “Where will one go for safety? This is true now, at Muslim conferences- we restrict which events we go to and in the end, we go nowhere in our Islamic development, because the thorns are everywhere.”

    I have a very conservative Muslim friend who told me to stay away from ISNA because there all this Shady stuff that goes on at their conventions.

    Hmm, this is a full debate, I see valid points on both side.

    Arguing is bad, I understand that. But does that mean you dont argue when something is being done wrong?

    -The Muslim Kid-

  2. Asalam.

    Beautiful posting akhi. A great reminder for all of us.
    May Allah SWT give us the tawfiq to implement and forgiveness for all the times we’ve violated it.

    H

  3. LOL @ Muslimkid…it’s NOT a debate! (That was my whole point)

    Argumentation is NOT in the Sunnah. It’s really as simple as that. And if you see something wrong, you do not need to argue for it- you simply state what is wrong and why in a clear and gentle manner. The rest will make it self apparent. If someone starts to argue with you- you tell them straight up, you do not bicker about the deen.

    And remember:
    Advice is like snow; the softer it falls the longer it dwells upon, and the deeper it sinks into the mind.
    -Samuel Taylor Coleridge

  4. I have now removed all the old, bickersome posts I made.

  5. so does anyone wanna argue now

  6. I don’t. But when I find myself explaining something, I get attacked and that is when I ditch it. I’m still pushing myself to avoid getting into these kafuffles. And have lapsed a little lately…

    But nothing contentious will be found here on my blog, In sha Allah !


Leave a Reply

Categories

