Posted by: Dawud Israel | October 6, 2009

Can’t Take It With You: Photography Exhibit of Muslims in America

Yusuf, brother of Omar Mullick, requested I spread the word about this awesome photo exhibit happening later this week.

The exhibit is on Thursday October 8th from 6pm to 9pm, at 16 West 23rd Street in New York City.

See here for a map

Gallery Website

Facebook Event

If you can’t make it check out some of the artwork at his website. Also there is a short interview with Omar Mullick here.

Its important we support our artists- they are the sources of inspiration. They are the ones who safeguard the secrets on how to love our community and appreciate the hidden beauties in Islam. This is all the more important because there is so much hatred in our communities. I don’t say that because I’m also becoming a bit of an artist (ok, maybe a little) but because I do really believe that. I am really touched by this photo exhibit, because I am always in awe of watching our brothers and sisters pray. Just that alone- still amazes me and that is no exaggeration.

I don’t live in NYC, but if I did I would definitely check this out. I encourage you check it out, 100-200 years from now these photos will really mean something!

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk, ameen.


Responses

  1. thank you for the post brother. may Allah reward you. amiin.
    wassalaamu ‘alaykum


Leave a Reply

Categories

