Posted by: Dawud Israel | December 24, 2010

A Simplified Method of Reading your Daily Surahs

Bismillah, alhamdulilah, wa salat was salam ala Rasulullah

I tried a new way of reading my daily surahs. Rather than sitting down and hunching over my mushaf I just photocopied the pages I recite regularly and stuck them on the wall.

I honestly found a lot of benefit from this simple change. Here’s a few benefits:

-its on the wall so you are always reminded of reciting and unlikely to forget due to being busy
-better lighting on the pages and so its easier to read
-less strain on your neck
-rather than holding the whole Qur’an in your hand, and being intimidated by the size and reminded of how much more you could/should be reciting, which can be discouraging, I only focus on whats before me, and on Allah.
-standing up for that period reciting Qur’an makes you psychologically ready for long qiyam (long standing in salah)
-it visually encourages you to recite more, “Hey, look, I recite this much everyday in 10 minutes. I can do this! So I should do more because I know for a fact I can do more!”

Of course, I’m sure this is an old idea- that is why we have Quranic calligraphy artwork on our walls. This method is kind of like a “drive-thru” version of reciting my daily surahs. The benefit is largely psychological- the difference between what you recite and what you perceive you recited is much less. It’s an EASY change to bring help you closer to the Qur’an and find the courage to add on more surahs to your daily dhikr. I can feel shaytan’s influence on me lessen because of this.

Oh and by the way, what I usually recite is before I go to sleep- last 10 ayahs of Surah Al-Imran, Surah al-Mulk, last 2 ayahs of Surah al-Baqarah, Surah ad-Dukhan, and Surah as-Sajdah- what I call the “Happiness surahs,” because since I made this a regular practice I’ve found lot more barakah in getting things done the following day. Alhamdulillah.

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk, ameen.


Responses

  1. This is what I did to memorize surah fajr!

  2. Salaam alaikum

    Your idea would also remind us of the Day of Judgment, when we stand before Allah; also, traditionally in almost every culture, standing for someone/something is showing more respect/honor than sitting down; and, standing keeps our mind more alert and focused than sitting.

    Thank you for sharing how and what you read daily!

  3. MashaAllah.

  4. “rather than holding the whole Qur’an in your hand, and being intimidated by the size and reminded of how much more you could/should be reciting, which can be discouraging, I only focus on whats before me, and on Allah.”

    If the size of Qur’an has been intimidating you then may be one day the photocopied pages stuck on the wall will intimidate you as well.

    In the day of modern technology where people carry around the Qur’an in their smart phones this above solution seems rather primitive but “Inamal Amaalu bin niyyah”.
    My dear brother has made a sincere intention to overcome the shayateen and devised a plan, May Allah SWT bless this plan of his. Ameen

    May Allah SWT bless us all and prevent from the distractions of the shayateen.

  5. […] decided to expand the idea from my previous post on simplifying reading your daily surahs and thought maybe if I could utilize it further. I thought maybe it would be convenient if I could […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

