Posted by: Dawud Israel | January 30, 2011

Coming Soon: Abdal Hakim Murad Week at Muslimology

So, a while ago I did Edward Said week here, and now I am planning on dedicating a week to Abdal Hakim Murad (aka Timothy J. Winters). He’s been called the Imam Ghazali of our times and the most influential Muslim in Britain. Like many, I’ve found his work to be absolutely amazing in its depth and wisdom. He is a historian, fluent in many languages, and a Traditionalist. I should mention I will be focusing more on material of his that will be beneficial to all Muslims and not to the exclusion of any one group–or alternatively I may just go with the more fun ‘equal-opportunity offender’ model which he applies nicely! 🙂

Unfortunately, not many people know of him and yet he has answers and ideas to many common problems we face. I’m not sure how I will be doing this, since it will take time to obtain and read his works and mull over his lectures. Also I have to think of what more I can say, since he pretty much sums up everything he talks about perfectly! But that said, there is always room for explanation. And maybe I will try and make some of his amazing ideas into artwork?


Responses

  1. awesome idea ma sha Allah! Awaiting eagerly 🙂

  2. Looking forward to it! I actually haven’t heard much of him either, so this should be quite educational for me.

  3. Mashallah! When will this be as i have heard a few of his lectures…. shukran.

  4. Can’t wait. If you want a recommendation, my favourite lecture of his is the the one he did on the Battle of Badr at Cambridge Khutbas etc.

  5. […] me at this time, but why Shaykh Hamza in particular? Why not dedicate a post to Shaykh Abdal Hakim, as brother Da’wud Israel has done? (To be fair he said he’d do a whole week). He was my first true experience with orthodoxy, I […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

