Posted by: Dawud Israel | November 2, 2016

The Sadaqa Business Model

Alhamdulillah, I recently got married and have begun working full-time. This is a great blessing I am grateful for daily. Like any blessing it has its challenges, responsibilities and there is a learning experience in it along with its fruits. For the longest time, I have been a student and feel compelled to stay that way, but now I feel I have joined the rest of society in the pursuit of the dollar.

I don’t like being put in this position. So I have tried to bring my deen into my dunya – so my dunya is for my deen. My goal for working has been to give more sadaqa but there is a whole psychology behind sadaqa and the economics of shaytan’s waswasa that hides behind every paycheque. But alhamdulillah, in Islam, sadaqa can be given to one’s family. And yet, with money I always feel I am being too prudent or too extravagant in spending. I am guided by the Prophet’s ﷺ saying, “The best of sustenance is that which suffices.”  May Allah help me implement and understand this saying, ameen. If I get caught up in the trap of being distracted by the dunya, as Allah warns us in Surah al-Takhathur, then maybe I will lose the baraka of what I do earn. It may be there is more baraka in fewer earnings and there may be less baraka in more earnings.

So one idea to bring deen and dunya together is to start a side-business but to make the spiritual intention (niyyah) that this business will be solely for sadaqa. The goal is to keep my intention clear – the profits go solely to sadaqa.

There is much baraka in this idea. First of all, its a side business and so if my nafs is lazy to work, then I don’t have major losses and any benefit is sadaqa. As a side business, I can do as much or as little as I can and if the business fails, its a learning experience and not a major loss since my livelihood doesn’t depend on it. A little khayr or a lot of khayr. Secondly, if I intend to do it for Allah, then perhaps Allah will put baraka in it and make this business take off. And lastly, its a spiritual exercise in becoming responsible with my mu’amalat (financial transactions) and becoming prudent without being stingy.

If I can succeed I can help the community and help my akhira. I can give back to my community (both Muslim and Canadian community) in the process of serving it. I don’t want to rely on the Muslim community for money – using Islam or my Muslim identity to make money for my nafs, but I feel we should do the reverse – to use our nafs to enrich the Muslim community. I hope one day I can implement this.

Subhana kallahumma wa bihamdika ash-haduana la illaha illa Ant astaghfiruka wa atubu ilayk, ameen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

