Posted by: Dawud Israel | December 2, 2009

Imam Shafi’i on Social Interaction

When you are content with somebody all you see is their perfection, but when you dislike someone all you see is their faults. And I don’t feel respect towards the one who shows me no respect and I don’t see in others what they don’t see in me. If you draw near to me, my love draws close to you, but if you turn away from me- you’ll see me turn away from you. Each is independent of each other and when we die we’ll be even more independent of each other.

-Imam ash-Shafi’i

Don’t you love how he is so direct, honest, down-to-earth?


Responses

  1. Yes 🙂

  2. as salamu alaikum, it would be better when you say the source for that. barak allahu feekum

  3. I try my best to source things, but source isn’t essential here. Its the meaning. This is from a scholars talk that I noted down.

    Wa aleikum salaam.

    • salamu alaikum, no you are wrong, the source is the most important thing, because we from ahlu sunnah take for example just sahih hadith and not a mawdu hadith even the text of a mawdu hadith ist excellent…i hope you understand what i mean?! i will know in which book this text is, not more, barak allahu feek

      • Your concern for rigor is admirable.

        I think you have the wrong impression. This quotation is a statement of Imam ash-Shafi, founder of the Shafi’i madhab. This quotation is not a hadith (statement of the Prophet salallahu alayhi wasalam) so it does not carry hukm nor is it a saying of any sahaba, but rather a saying of Imam Shafi’i, which was mentioned in a talk I listened to from Hamza Yusuf. Imam ash-Shafi’i is known for these sorts of quotations since he was a master of language. I’ll try to share more of them in the future.

        Wa aleikum salam.


Leave a Reply

Categories

